About Balearic Islands

Balearic Islands

Balearic Islands

The Balearic Islands are a Spanish archipelago in the western Mediterranean sea, near mainland Spain’s east coast. The four largest islands are: Mallorca, Menorca, Ibiza, and Formentera. With these islands’ official language being Catalan and Spanish, they are considered an autonomous community.

Given their location in the Mediterranean, the history of these islands go far back in time, past the Roman Empire period to even the times of Greek and Phoenician settlements (with evidence of Phoenician artifacts found in the town of Mahon in Menorca). The Romans themselves established the present-day towns of Palma and Pollença in Mallorca. A Roman presence (in the form of a statue) can presently be seen at the entrance of the medieval period Dalt Vila castle in Ibiza town.

After the fall of the Roman Empire, the Balearic Islands went through periods of conquest by the Moors, the Crusaders, incorporation by the Kingdom of Aragon (Spain) during the 13th century, attacks by Barbary pirates, and occupations by the British and the French during the 1700s. By the early 1800s, the Balearic Islands permanently returned under Spanish rule.

These days, given the favorable climate that these islands enjoy, tourism (and to a lesser degree, luxury real estate) drive the local economy. Ibiza, in particular, attracts hundreds of thousands of young international party goers every Summer (to enjoy that island’s famed House music culture and nightlife). This, while Mallorca and Menorca attract tourists of varying age groups.